GrantSnap
5 African accelerators worth knowing: terms, equity and who they take
By GrantSnap team · Published 2026-10-31 · guide
Google for Startups Accelerator Africa page, captured 31 October 2026.
Five accelerators are worth a closer look if you are building in Africa: Google for Startups Accelerator Africa, Founders Factory Africa, Antler in Nairobi and Lagos, MEST Africa and Flat6Labs. They differ most on money. Google's programme is equity-free, Antler publishes a clear equity deal, MEST publishes an investment ceiling but no equity figure, and Flat6Labs and Founders Factory Africa publish no deal terms on the pages we read.
This is a comparison, not a ranking. We chose programmes that run in Africa, reach founders in more than one country, and have been active in 2026. We then read each programme's own website on 31 October 2026. Where a page does not state something, we write "not published". Dates and terms change, so confirm everything on the official page before you apply.
Google for Startups Accelerator Africa
Google for Startups runs this programme. Its page says each cohort has 10 to 15 startups and lasts three months, with a mix of remote and in-person sessions, one-to-one mentoring and sprint projects. It is equity-free for the duration of the programme. The page also lists Google product credits and Cloud credits for eligible startups, subject to review. It does not mention a fee.
The entry criteria are demanding. Google asks for traction, ideally at growth stage, a scalable product with a large addressable market, and a deeply technical team that preferably uses machine learning and AI. A CTO or technical lead must commit to the required sessions. The FAQ says it suits growth-stage, revenue-generating tech startups.
The 2026 window has passed. Applications opened on 4 February 2026 and closed on 18 March 2026, with kick-off in April and graduation in June. The page now says applications are closed and offers a form to register interest in future programmes. It does not describe the application questions.
Founders Factory Africa
Founders Factory Africa describes itself as Africa's most hands-on investor and gives an address in Johannesburg. Its portfolio page lists about 40 startups across countries including Nigeria, Kenya, South Africa, Uganda and Rwanda, with the strongest focus on fintech and health technology.
This is the thinnest entry. The pages we read publish no programme length, investment amount, equity terms, fees, eligibility rules, application window or application questions. Some portfolio companies are tagged as a current cohort, but the site does not define that label. If it interests you, the site gives portfolio@foundersfactory.africa as a contact. Treat any terms you hear elsewhere as unconfirmed until Founders Factory Africa states them.
Antler in Nairobi and Lagos
Antler is a global early-stage investor, and its Africa locations are Kenya and Nigeria. Its Nairobi page describes a 10-week, full-time, in-person Founder Residency, run twice a year. Its Lagos page describes an eight-week, full-time, in-person Sandbox. Both end with a pitch to an investment committee.
The deal is published. Antler offers a first investment of up to $250,000. Of that, $100,000 is cash for 10% equity, and $150,000 is pre-committed to match your next VC-led round at that round's valuation. The Nairobi page says there are no residency fees. Neither page states an application fee. Antler says it backs fewer than 1% of applicants in Nairobi.
It suits individuals with an idea and early teams with an MVP or first customers. You do not need a company, a co-founder or a finished product. You must be willing to relocate for the residency. On timing, the Nairobi and Lagos pages list start dates of 12 October and 14 September 2026, which have passed. Antler's cohort page lists 22 March 2027 for Nairobi and 15 March 2027 for Lagos, calls these start dates rather than deadlines, and urges early applications.
MEST Africa
MEST is the flagship programme of the Meltwater Foundation and is based in Accra, Ghana. The Class of 2027 AI Startup Program page describes seven months of full-time, in-person training from January to July, then an optional four months of incubation. Ventures that move into the MEST portfolio can receive up to $100,000 in pre-seed investment. The page does not state equity terms. The programme is fully sponsored, and MEST covers flights to Ghana, healthcare and residency during the programme.
Eligibility is narrow. Applicants must be West or East African, aged 21 to 35, with software development experience and a basic grasp of AI, and they cannot hold a job or study alongside it. Teams are two to four people. The page says an idea is welcome but an existing business you already run is not.
The window ran from 19 May to 20 July 2026 and has closed. Contracts are due in mid-October 2026 and the programme starts in January 2027. MEST also ran the MEST Africa Challenge in 2025 with Absa. Its page offered a $50,000 equity prize, but the page speaks of that round in the past tense.
Flat6Labs
Flat6Labs was launched in 2011 in Egypt by Sawari Ventures and now lists 12 locations. In Africa these are Egypt, Tunisia and Morocco. Its homepage does not publish equity or investment amounts, and many of its programmes are partner-funded, so they work differently from a classic seed accelerator.
Two examples show the range. The Green Growth and Jobs Accelerator Project, run with UNDP, lasts five months in Tunisia, Morocco, Egypt and Jordan. It is for established SMEs in green sectors that have operated for at least two years, earn revenue and are led by or involve youth or women. Ignite Morocco runs for 6 to 18 months and gives selected candidates free access. It is for digital companies registered for no more than eight years, with Moroccan ties set out on the page. Neither page states equity, a deadline or the application questions.
Flat6Labs says you may apply to more than one programme if you meet each one's criteria, and each runs its own selection.
What the applications ask
Antler publishes the most. Nairobi asks for a LinkedIn profile or CV, plus a pitch deck for teams, then a 30-minute first interview, a partner interview and a coffee chat. Lagos asks for written answers that show conviction and insight, a 30-minute screening call and a partner interview. Antler says it does not give individual feedback to unsuccessful applicants.
MEST requires a general application form, a video submission and an assessment, and does not review an application unless all three are complete. Shortlisted candidates then do an in-person group challenge and individual interviews. Scoring covers product and market validation, business model feasibility, and team strength. Google, Founders Factory Africa and the Flat6Labs programmes we read do not publish their questions.
How to choose and what to prepare
Start with stage. Google wants revenue and a technical team. MEST wants a full-time commitment from young software builders. Antler takes people at idea stage and will relocate you for the residency. Then check cost. Equity-free, a stated 10%, or unpublished terms are different decisions, so ask for the term sheet before you commit.
Prepare a short deck, a founder CV, a one-page account of your traction and a clear reason for choosing this programme now. Record a short, clear video, since MEST requires one. Most windows close months ahead, so keep a calendar of next intakes. For nearer deadlines, GrantSnap's catalog shows two open as of 31 October 2026. The Stanbic GreenTech Accelerator Program, from the French Embassy in Uganda and Stanbic Business Incubator, closes on 31 October 2026 for green technology entrepreneurs in Kampala and Hoima. The MAMA HOPE Localization Development Accelerator (LDA) 2027 closes on 15 November 2026 for community-based organisations in East Africa.
Finding open calls
GrantSnap tracks live funding calls like these. On 31 October 2026 our catalog held 37 live listings tagged for Africa. It drafts application answers from your profile and fills the funder's form in Chrome, and you review every answer before you submit.
Common questions
Which of these programmes is equity-free?
Google for Startups Accelerator Africa states that it is equity-free for the duration of the programme. MEST does not state equity terms for its up to $100,000 pre-seed investment, and Flat6Labs and Founders Factory Africa publish none on the pages we read.
What does Antler's published deal look like?
Antler's Nairobi and Lagos pages describe up to $250,000, made up of $100,000 for 10% equity as cash and $150,000 pre-committed to match your next VC-led round at that round's valuation. Confirm the current terms with Antler before you apply.
Can I apply to any of them right now?
As of 31 October 2026, Google's 2026 applications and MEST's Class of 2027 window are closed. Antler lists March 2027 start dates with no deadline and encourages early applications. The Flat6Labs programme pages we read did not state deadlines.
Do these accelerators charge fees?
Antler's Nairobi page says there are no residency fees, and MEST says participants pay nothing. Google's page does not mention a fee, and Ignite Morocco says selected candidates get free access.
Sources
- Google for Startups Accelerator: Africa (accessed 2026-10-31)
- Founders Factory Africa (accessed 2026-10-31)
- Founders Factory Africa portfolio (accessed 2026-10-31)
- Antler East Africa (Nairobi) (accessed 2026-10-31)
- Antler Nigeria (Lagos) (accessed 2026-10-31)
- Antler cohort start dates (accessed 2026-10-31)
- MEST AI Startup Program (Class of 2027) (accessed 2026-10-31)
- MEST Africa Challenge (accessed 2026-10-31)
- Flat6Labs (accessed 2026-10-31)
- Flat6Labs Green Growth and Jobs Accelerator Project (accessed 2026-10-31)
- Flat6Labs Ignite Morocco (accessed 2026-10-31)
- Flat6Labs Apply Now (accessed 2026-10-31)
We read the official pages of each programme listed in the sources on 31 October 2026; the two open calls and the count of 37 live Africa-tagged listings come from the GrantSnap catalog as of 2026-10-31.
All GrantSnap articles